AALAS District 4

District 4 of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science (AALAS) is one of eight AALAS District divisions in the United States. District 4 encompasses Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida and Puerto Rico. AALAS District 4 has within it's boundaries 6 of the nearly 50 affiliated Branches of the Association. Each Branch covers a general geographical area , however membership is not regionally restricted and anyone professionally concerned with the production, care, and study of laboratory animals is welcome to join any one or as many Branches as desired. Each District has 2 elected members to the AALAS Board of Trustees who, along with the Officers, serve as the governing body of AALAS. The Trustees for District 4 are; Dr. Chris King (2014) and Dr. Tonya R Hargett (2015).

The AALAS District 4 holds an annual educational meeting in the spring of each year. The meeting is rotated between the Branches to allow for greater participation by the local Branch members. Each annual meeting is a three day event running from the opening activities on Wednesday afternoon through the conclusion of the educational presentations on Friday afternoon. The Branches of District 4 entered into a cooperative agreement in 1994 with the formation of the District 4 Council whose sole charge is to support, promote, and insure continuation of the annual District 4 meeting.

Branches of District 4
District 4 Council